2018 General Convention of the Episcopal Church

The 79th General Convention of the Episcopal Church was held in Austin, Texas, July 5-13, 2018.

general convention logo

The General Convention is the governing body of the Episcopal Church and the Convention is a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies and House of Bishops. Each diocese appoints up to four clergy and four lay leaders to serve as deputies, which numbers over 800. All bishops of the Episcopal Church, active or retired, make up the House of Bishops that currently has about 300 active members.

The Convention meets every three years and has the authority to amend the Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church; adopt the budget for the church for the next three years; authorize liturgical texts and amend the Book of Common Prayer; adopt communions and covenants with other churches; set qualifications for orders of ministry and office-holders; elect officers of the General Convention, the Executive Council, and members of boards; and delegate responsibilities to the interim bodies of the Episcopal Church.

Attendees from the Diocese include Bishop Robert Fitzpatrick and the Diocese of Hawai‘i’s deputies: The Rev. Moki Hino (Co-Chair), Ryan Kusumoto (Co-Chair), John Decker, Pam Fern, The Rev. Cn. Brian Grieves, The Rev. Malcolm Keleawe Hee, The Rev. Paul Lillie, and Mimi Wu. The delegation also includes Stanley Yon, Lay Alternate, and Clergy Alternates Steven Costa, Irene Tanabe, and Kathleen Cullinane.

Here are some photos from the convention:

previous arrow
next arrow